No. Oklahoma law does not require a license to purchase a handgun. However, you need a license to carry a handgun concealed or openly in Oklahoma.
- Successfully complete the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act firearms safety and training course.
- Take your properly completed application, original course completion certificate, 2 passport photos, and the applicable fees (see below) to your county sheriff’s office.
- The sheriff’s office will take your fingerprints, review your application, conduct a local records check, and forward your application to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI).
- OSBI will conduct a statewide records check and forward your fingerprints to the FBI for nationwide records check.
- If everything comes back clean, you’ll receive your handgun license in the mail within 60 days.
Law abiding Oklahoma residents* who are U.S. Citizens and at least 21 years old are eligible to obtain an Oklahoma Handgun License.
* According to Oklahoma statute the term “resident” applies to “any person who either possesses a valid Oklahoma driver license or state photo identification card, and physically resides in this state or has permanent military orders within this state and possesses a valid driver license from another state where such person claims residency.”
Yes. Oklahoma recognizes all other states valid carry permits. If you are from a state that allows carry without a permit, Oklahoma reciprocates under the laws of that state.
Yes. Several states recognize Oklahoma’s Handgun License. For a complete list check out our reciprocity page.
- OSBI charges new applicants $100.00 for a 5-year license and $200.00 for a 10-year license. Renewals cost $85.00 for a 5-year license and $170.00 for a 10-year license.
- Your sheriff will charge $25.00 to fingerprint you.*
- Your passport photos will cost about $10.00-$15.00.
- The cost of the class at Arbuckle Firearms Training is $50.00.
*You don’t have to be fingerprinted or submit your application through the sheriff when you renew your license, as long as it hasn’t been expired for more than 3 years.
- Handgun (.45 caliber or smaller)
- 50 rounds of commercial ammunition (No reloads!)
- Hearing and eye protection
- Baseball style cap